Parliament Website

Fukushima Power Station And Nuclear Power In The UK

EDM number 1615 in 2010-12, proposed by Martin Horwood on 16/03/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Nuclear power.

That this House deeply regrets the loss of life caused by the recent earthquake and tsunami in Japan and expresses its sincere condolences to all those affected by the disaster; notes the resulting damage to at least four Japanese nuclear power stations including the Fukushima Daiichi power station; applauds the courage and expertise of those working to make them safe; understands the unique circumstances of Japan's place on a major geological fault-line; welcomes the decision by the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change to ask for a report from the Chief Nuclear Inspector on the implications of events in Japan for the UK; but nevertheless believes that events in Fukushima underline the extreme dangers inherent in nuclear power, the relative resilience of a completely safe, decentralised and renewable energy supply and the inevitable inability of even the highest design and safety standards to protect us from unforeseen events; and therefore calls on the Secretary of State to suspend the Government's plans for a new nuclear power programme in the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 56 MPs.

Martin Horwood16/03/2011CheltenhamLiberal DemocratProposed
Zac Goldsmith16/03/2011Richmond ParkConservativeSeconded
Alan Whitehead16/03/2011Southampton, TestLabourSeconded
Caroline Lucas16/03/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Michael Weir16/03/2011AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Mark Durkan16/03/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Adrian Sanders17/03/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton17/03/2011GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/03/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/03/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/03/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew George21/03/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn21/03/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Annette Brooke21/03/2011Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon22/03/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Dan Rogerson22/03/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams22/03/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell23/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams23/03/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/03/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie28/03/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech28/03/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Weatherley28/03/2011HoveConservativeSigned
Tessa Munt28/03/2011WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gilbert29/03/2011St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
Joe Benton29/03/2011BootleLabourSigned
Michael Meacher29/03/2011Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Dai Havard29/03/2011Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Alan Meale29/03/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Mike Wood30/03/2011Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Lorely Burt30/03/2011SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake31/03/2011Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith05/04/2011Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Pete Wishart05/04/2011Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi05/04/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz05/04/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Jenny Chapman26/04/2011DarlingtonLabourSigned
Bill Esterson26/04/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Ian Mearns26/04/2011GatesheadLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards26/04/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Nicholas Dakin26/04/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Eilidh Whiteford26/04/2011Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Jo Swinson26/04/2011East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron26/04/2011Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Natascha Engel26/04/2011North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman26/04/2011Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Marsha Singh26/04/2011Bradford WestLabourSigned
Si27/04/2011Swansea EastLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd27/04/2011EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus Robertson03/05/2011MorayScottish National PartySigned
Charles Kennedy11/05/2011Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart12/05/2011Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Wright13/05/2011Norwich SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Menzies Campbell17/05/2011North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott23/05/2011Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell30/06/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.