Parliament Website

Libel Reform

EDM number 1636 in 2010-12, proposed by Julian Huppert on 21/03/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Civil law and Legislative process.

That this House welcomes the publication of the draft Defamation Bill as an essential step towards the necessary and urgent reform of the UK's outdated and unbalanced libel laws; notes that libel reform is a manifesto commitment from all three major parties, and was included in the Coalition programme; recognises that English libel law must allow individual citizens to be able to sue for libel when they have been the victim of false, irresponsible and damaging publications; further welcomes the inclusion of a new public interest defence in the draft Bill which should protect investigative journalism; believes this public interest defence should be strengthened to protect the citizen critic; further welcomes proposals in the Bill to raise the threshold of harm before action can be taken, to create statutory defences of truth and honest opinion, to introduce a single publication rule for the internet, and to reduce libel tourism; further believes that effective libel reform can only be delivered, and the chilling or censorious impact of bullying behaviour reduced, if companies and corporations are restricted to the use of malicious falsehood actions and if internet service providers and non-editorial web-hosts are only liable consequent to a specific order of a court, and welcomes the consultation on both these issues; applauds the efforts of the Libel Reform Campaign and hon. Members from all sides of the House in support of free expression; and looks forward to the draft Bill being strengthened as it goes through the scrutiny process.

This motion has been signed by a total of 77 MPs.

Julian Huppert21/03/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley21/03/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George21/03/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell21/03/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Farrelly22/03/2011Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSeconded
Denis MacShane22/03/2011RotherhamLabourSeconded
Caroline Lucas22/03/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Mark Reckless22/03/2011Rochester and StroodConservativeSeconded
Martin Caton22/03/2011GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn22/03/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Leech22/03/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams22/03/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Halfon22/03/2011HarlowConservativeSigned
John McDonnell23/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/03/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Philip Davies24/03/2011ShipleyConservativeSigned
Jonathan Edwards24/03/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Kevin Barron24/03/2011Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Mark Durkan24/03/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Glenda Jackson24/03/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Richard Bacon24/03/2011South NorfolkConservativeSigned
Stephen Hepburn28/03/2011JarrowLabourSigned
David Heyes28/03/2011Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Paul Flynn28/03/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne29/03/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Keith Vaz29/03/2011Leicester EastLabourSigned
Tim Farron29/03/2011Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/03/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gary Streeter30/03/2011South West DevonConservativeSigned
Anne Begg30/03/2011Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
John Cryer30/03/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd31/03/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Tom Brake31/03/2011Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sheila Gilmore31/03/2011Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Mark Williams01/04/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gilbert01/04/2011St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon04/04/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders04/04/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mann04/04/2011BassetlawLabourSigned
Natascha Engel05/04/2011North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Graham Allen05/04/2011Nottingham NorthLabourSigned
Ian Swales26/04/2011RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Anas Sarwar26/04/2011Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Duncan Hames26/04/2011ChippenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Fiona Bruce26/04/2011CongletonConservativeSigned
Fabian Hamilton26/04/2011Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Don Foster26/04/2011BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Harris26/04/2011Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock26/04/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
John Whittingdale27/04/2011MaldonConservativeSigned
Martin Horwood28/04/2011CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice03/05/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Edward Leigh04/05/2011GainsboroughConservativeSigned
Dan Rogerson04/05/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Brady05/05/2011Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Lorely Burt10/05/2011SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Blenkinsop11/05/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Linda Riordan11/05/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff11/05/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham12/05/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley12/05/2011York CentralLabourSigned
Robin Walker12/05/2011WorcesterConservativeSigned
Greg Mulholland13/05/2011Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark16/05/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan17/05/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Roger Williams18/05/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Yasmin Qureshi19/05/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Debbie Abrahams24/05/2011Oldham East and SaddleworthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd10/06/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
George Mudie14/07/2011Leeds EastLabourSigned
Stella Creasy19/07/2011WalthamstowLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper05/09/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield09/09/2011Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Joan Walley23/11/2011Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Naomi Long14/12/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Graham Stringer31/01/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Bill Esterson01/02/2012Sefton CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.