Parliament Website

Future Of Social Work

EDM number 1645 in 2010-12, proposed by Andrew George on 23/03/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Community care and Health staff and professions.

That this House recognises the critical role of social work in protecting, supporting and empowering children and adults made vulnerable by disability, old age, ill health and personal circumstances; notes the international definition of social work by the International Federation of Social Work and approved by the United Nations and supports its inclusion in the Health and Social Care Bill; further recognises that the role and functions of social workers should be protected; and calls for the establishment of a chief social worker to report to Parliament annually on the state of social work as well as statutory powers for a College of Social Work to ensure that the voices of social workers are heard.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Andrew George23/03/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratProposed
Kelvin Hopkins23/03/2011Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell23/03/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan23/03/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
John Cryer23/03/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley23/03/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Adrian Sanders24/03/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon24/03/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Glenda Jackson24/03/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Martin Caton24/03/2011GowerLabourSigned
Mike Hancock24/03/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards24/03/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Flynn28/03/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner28/03/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/03/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd30/03/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd31/03/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Meale31/03/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin31/03/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Leech01/04/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams01/04/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff04/04/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy05/04/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie26/04/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gordon Banks14/07/2011Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
Chris Evans14/07/2011IslwynLabourSigned
Ian Mearns14/07/2011GatesheadLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin14/07/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham14/07/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Crockart14/07/2011Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma14/07/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Neil Parish14/07/2011Tiverton and HonitonConservativeSigned
Hywel Williams14/07/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Anne Begg14/07/2011Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Mike Gapes14/07/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Tom Clarke14/07/2011Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Annette Brooke14/07/2011Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne14/07/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman14/07/2011Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan14/07/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Frank Doran18/07/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dowd18/07/2011Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper05/09/2011West LancashireLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.