Parliament Website

John Passmore Edwards

EDM number 1671 in 2010-12, proposed by Sarah Newton on 30/03/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Equality.

That this House notes the 100th anniversary of the death of John Passmore Edwards on 22 April 2011; recognises his contribution to society, as social and political reformer, anti-slavery and peace activist, newspaper owner, hon. Member for Salisbury and philanthropist; furthernotes the contribution made by Edwards in promoting the Free Library Acts and, through his benevolence, funding the building of 24 public libraries and providing more than 80,000 books for libraries, funding more than 70 public buildings, stretching from St Ives in Cornwall - the county of his birth - to Herne Bay, in Kent, including hospitals, convalescent homes, libraries, schools, orphanages, institutes, art galleries and museums; and welcomes the many commemorative events that will be taking place in Cornwall, across the South and South East and in London to celebrate the continuing good work associated with his bequests and to mark the anniversary over the coming year.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Sarah Newton30/03/2011Truro and FalmouthConservativeProposed
Simon Hughes30/03/2011Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSeconded
Dan Rogerson30/03/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell30/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Andrew George30/03/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen Gilbert30/03/2011St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley30/03/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Stephen Williams31/03/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock31/03/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes31/03/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn31/03/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton31/03/2011GowerLabourSigned
Graham Brady31/03/2011Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Bob Russell31/03/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn01/04/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/04/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Frank Field04/04/2011BirkenheadLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders05/04/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Baldry05/04/2011BanburyConservativeSigned
Alan Beith05/04/2011Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming05/04/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne26/04/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Katy Clark26/04/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Leech26/04/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Whittingdale27/04/2011MaldonConservativeSigned
Paul Blomfield12/05/2011Sheffield CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.