Parliament Website

First Anniversary Of The Collapse Of Jarvis Rail

EDM number 1678 in 2010-12, proposed by John McDonnell on 30/03/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Railways.

That this House considers 31 March 2011 a shameful anniversary in the recent history of Britain's railways; recalls that on this day a year ago rail engineering company Jarvis went into administration and 1,200 skilled employees were made redundant without any notice; notes that their families' livelihoods were destroyed and that one year on the majority of these workers remain unemployed whilst Network Rail has re-let former Jarvis contracts to agency labour, some of whom pay exploitative wages; further notes that Jarvis's work transferred to new companies, but its workers did not and regards this as a national scandal; believes natural justice demands Network Rail should ensure all former Jarvis employees are transferred to new contractors with former terms and conditions respected; is concerned that the dismissal of these skilled workers will have serious consequences for rail services in the UK, impacting upon the safety of the railway and inhibiting future capacity for major infrastructure projects such as high speed rail; and urges the Government to convene an urgent industry-wide jobs seminar to examine rail engineering employment needs now and the importance of safeguarding and enhancing such skills for the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

John McDonnell30/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Linda Riordan30/03/2011HalifaxLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon31/03/2011StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martin Caton31/03/2011GowerLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd31/03/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Alan Meale31/03/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn31/03/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson01/04/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Paul Flynn01/04/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram04/04/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin04/04/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd04/04/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/04/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock05/04/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma05/04/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
George Howarth26/04/2011KnowsleyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff26/04/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Katy Clark26/04/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn27/04/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Mary Glindon28/04/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham09/05/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon11/05/2011North DownIndependentSigned
Mike Wood07/06/2011Batley and SpenLabourSigned
John Mann01/03/2012BassetlawLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.