Parliament Website

Young Driver Safety

EDM number 1786 in 2010-12, proposed by Roger Williams on 09/05/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Roads.

That this House notes the 8,189 young people aged 16 to 25 who have been killed on UK roads in the last 10 years; recognises the urgent need for the House to act to prevent more such needless and tragic deaths; further recognises the opportunity that the UN Decade of Action on Road Safety, which commences on 11 May 2011, offers to this House to take a bold step towards preventing young deaths on the road in the next decade; further notes the evidence that a system of Graduated Driver Licensing, encompassing a minimum learning period and a restricted novice driving period, would help to reduce road casualties; further recognises that such a step has the support of road safety charity Brake and the Association of British Insurers; and congratulates Brake forits work to promote road safety and support people who have been bereaved or seriously injured in a road crash.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Roger Williams09/05/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Martin Caton10/05/2011GowerLabourSeconded
Stephen Williams10/05/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon10/05/2011StrangfordDUPSeconded
Andrew George10/05/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
William McCrea11/05/2011South AntrimDUPSeconded
Adrian Sanders11/05/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson11/05/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell11/05/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale11/05/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn11/05/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan11/05/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Flynn11/05/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock11/05/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Rotheram11/05/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Bob Russell12/05/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech12/05/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/05/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson13/05/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell18/05/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jennifer Willott18/05/2011Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams19/05/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams23/05/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Crockart23/05/2011Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne McGuire07/06/2011StirlingLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper07/06/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Fiona Bruce07/06/2011CongletonConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds08/06/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
David Crausby09/06/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman13/06/2011HuddersfieldLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.