Parliament Website

Radar's Mp Disability Dialogue Campaign

EDM number 1797 in 2010-12, proposed by Anne McGuire on 11/05/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Disability discrimination and Members of Parliament.

That this House recognises the importance of engaging with disabled people and increasing diversity in political life; notes that in 2010 a poll showed 88 per cent. of disabled people felt that their voices were not heard by elected representatives; further notes that only 32 per cent. of people with learning disabilities voted; regrets that this House has so few hon. Members with a declared disability; welcomes Radar's MP Disability Dialogue which aims to encourage disabled people and local disability organisations to engage in the democratic process and feel more confident about meeting their MPs and to give hon. Members of all parties increased confidence to communicate with and represent their disabled constituents effectively; and therefore calls on all hon. Members to participate in the Dialogue which starts on 12 May 2011 and runs until the end of June 2011.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Anne McGuire11/05/2011StirlingLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley11/05/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Richard Bacon11/05/2011South NorfolkConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan11/05/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Ian Swales11/05/2011RedcarLiberal DemocratSeconded
Kerry McCarthy11/05/2011Bristol EastLabourSeconded
Bob Russell11/05/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/05/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop12/05/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
John Leech12/05/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George12/05/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton12/05/2011GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale12/05/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd12/05/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner12/05/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Shannon12/05/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/05/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson13/05/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Fiona Bruce16/05/2011CongletonConservativeSigned
Jim McGovern16/05/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Katy Clark16/05/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin16/05/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood16/05/2011Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders16/05/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn16/05/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
David Simpson17/05/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
George Howarth17/05/2011KnowsleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/05/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper17/05/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/05/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Sandra Osborne18/05/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson18/05/2011Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Hywel Francis18/05/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Mark Williams19/05/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Debbie Abrahams19/05/2011Oldham East and SaddleworthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams23/05/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Lindsay Roy23/05/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Michael Crockart23/05/2011Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long24/05/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Ian Lavery24/05/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice07/06/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds08/06/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Barry Sheerman13/06/2011HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Julian Huppert16/06/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming22/06/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.