Parliament Website

Citizens Advice Scotland

EDM number 183 in 2010-12, proposed by John Thurso on 08/06/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Financial services and Incomes and poverty.

That this House notes Citizens Advice Scotland's most recent report Fully Charged which raises concerns about the continuing effects of unfair and disproportionate overdraft charges on vulnerable and low income people living in Scotland; further notes evidence from citizens advice bureaux across Scotland showing that charges impact disproportionately on those least able to cope with them; further notes that many people receive high bank charges for situations over which they had little control; further notes that banks are failing to help customers in financial difficulty despite receiving taxpayer support; and calls on the Government and the UK banks quickly to reach a solution that will put an end to unfair charges that affect millions of customers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

John Thurso08/06/2010Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratProposed
Stewart Hosie08/06/2010Dundee EastScottish National PartySeconded
Menzies Campbell08/06/2010North East FifeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Malcolm Bruce08/06/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Reid08/06/2010Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Lazarowicz08/06/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSeconded
Frank Doran08/06/2010Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan08/06/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Davidson09/06/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Michael Weir09/06/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil09/06/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards09/06/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tom Greatrex10/06/2010Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock14/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech14/06/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Harris15/06/2010Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy15/06/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell16/06/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jim McGovern16/06/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Michael Crockart16/06/2010Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Anas Sarwar17/06/2010Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Albert Owen22/06/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Angus Robertson23/06/2010MorayScottish National PartySigned
Cathy Jamieson23/06/2010Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
David Hamilton23/06/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Pete Wishart23/06/2010Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford23/06/2010Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell29/06/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John McDonnell30/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty20/10/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Katy Clark29/03/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.