Parliament Website

Mencap Campaign Against Disability Hate Crime

EDM number 1880 in 2010-12, proposed by Tom Clarke on 08/06/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Crimes of violence.

That this House regrets that nine out of 10 people with a learning disability have experienced some form of bullying or a disability hate crime; further regrets that 32 per cent. of people with a learning disability have experienced this on a daily or weekly basis; notes the serious and long-lasting impact of hate crime on how people live their lives; recognises that people with a learning disability have a right to live independent lives which are free from fear and abuse; welcomes the work being done by many police forces and other agencies to help counter disability hate crime; further welcomes Mencap's Stand by Me campaign to help stop hate crime against people with a learning disability, which was launched during Learning Disability Week on 20 June 2011; and calls on police forces to sign up to, and implement, Mencap's Police Promise in order to help stop learning disability hate crime.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Tom Clarke08/06/2011Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourProposed
Mike Hancock08/06/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon09/06/2011StrangfordDUPSeconded
Steve Rotheram09/06/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards09/06/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Peter Bottomley09/06/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lorely Burt09/06/2011SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Ashworth09/06/2011Leicester SouthLabourSigned
Pat Glass09/06/2011North West DurhamLabourSigned
Michael Weir09/06/2011AngusScottish National PartySigned
Mike Gapes09/06/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/06/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/06/2011GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell09/06/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd09/06/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/06/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn10/06/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Williams10/06/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Osborne13/06/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Mark Durkan13/06/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech13/06/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma13/06/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin13/06/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Grahame Morris13/06/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
David Simpson14/06/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Katy Clark14/06/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Andrew George14/06/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long14/06/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Julian Lewis14/06/2011New Forest EastConservativeSigned
William McCrea14/06/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Paul Murphy15/06/2011TorfaenLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell15/06/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin15/06/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds15/06/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jim McGovern15/06/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Ian Swales15/06/2011RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper16/06/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy16/06/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Albert Owen21/06/2011Ynys MLabourSigned
Ian Lavery21/06/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
David Crausby21/06/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Hemming22/06/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie23/06/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Ruane18/07/2011Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman05/09/2011Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Jessica Morden10/10/2011Newport EastLabourSigned
Alison McGovern27/10/2011Wirral SouthLabourSigned
Stephen Williams21/11/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell26/01/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.