Parliament Website

Actions Of Chinese Troops In Ngaba, Tibet

EDM number 2009 in 2010-12, proposed by Fabian Hamilton on 29/06/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Asia.

That this House condemns the use of violence to quash a peaceful demonstration by monks and lay people in Ngaba, Tibet that has resulted in the deaths of two elderly local residents; further condemns the cordoning off of the local Kirti monastery, the political re-education of its monks and the disappearance of 300 monks; also voices grave concern about the continued high level of troops in the area, effectively putting the town under martial law; and calls on the Prime Minister to make a public statement about this grave situation to reinforce the requests made by the EU China delegation for further information on the fate and whereabouts of the disappeared monks and for an independent representative to visit Ngaba to validate the current situation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Fabian Hamilton29/06/2011Leeds North EastLabourProposed
Mark Durkan29/06/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley29/06/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Graham Stringer30/06/2011Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Martin Caton30/06/2011GowerLabourSeconded
John Leech30/06/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell04/07/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards04/07/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tessa Munt04/07/2011WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/07/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Cathy Jamieson05/07/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Andrew George05/07/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma05/07/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell06/07/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie06/07/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin07/07/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Kate Hoey11/07/2011VauxhallLabourSigned
Mary Glindon11/07/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Frank Field14/07/2011BirkenheadLabourSigned
Roger Williams14/07/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams14/07/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Fiona Bruce14/07/2011CongletonConservativeSigned
John Hemming18/07/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Begg19/07/2011Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Alan Johnson20/07/2011Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Kate Green20/07/2011Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon11/08/2011North DownIndependentSigned
Simon Hughes08/12/2011Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.