Parliament Website

News International And Bskyb

EDM number 2040 in 2010-12, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 06/07/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Press.

That this House condemns the proposal to allow the News International takeover of BSkyB; believes that News Corporation has breached previous assurances when taking over The Times, TheSunday Times, The Sun and the News of the World; further condemns the short consultation period of eight days on this takeover; further believes that there are serious questions outstanding over phone hacking at theNews International-owned News of the World; further believes that the takeover should not be approved whilst such questions are outstanding; and calls on the Government to stop the News International takeover of BSkyB.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Austin Mitchell06/07/2011Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
John McDonnell06/07/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham06/07/2011Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn06/07/2011Newport WestLabourSeconded
Katy Clark06/07/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins06/07/2011Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell06/07/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd06/07/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Durkan06/07/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Hywel Williams06/07/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jonathan Edwards06/07/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Stephen Williams07/07/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George07/07/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson07/07/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner07/07/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin07/07/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ian Davidson11/07/2011Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy11/07/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Mary Glindon11/07/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Mark Williams12/07/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton13/07/2011GowerLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice13/07/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Linda Riordan13/07/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Lorely Burt13/07/2011SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/07/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Naomi Long13/07/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Cathy Jamieson13/07/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
John Leech14/07/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby18/07/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Hemming18/07/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff14/09/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.