Parliament Website

Deaths From Methadone Abuse

EDM number 2132 in 2010-12, proposed by Ian Mearns on 05/09/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Drugs misuse.

That this House deeply regrets the loss of four young lives to methadone abuse in recent months in Gateshead; notes that this has occurred thanks to a loophole identified by the police which allows registered users who don't take the drug at the point of prescription to sell on some of their prescribed dose; supports calls by senior police officers for methadone to be dispensed and taken under supervision in the pharmacy; and urges the Health Minister to take action as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Ian Mearns05/09/2011GatesheadLabourProposed
Grahame Morris05/09/2011EasingtonLabourSeconded
Pat Glass05/09/2011North West DurhamLabourSeconded
Andrew Percy05/09/2011Brigg and GooleConservativeSeconded
Peter Bottomley05/09/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale06/09/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock06/09/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Lavery06/09/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
Jim Shannon07/09/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/09/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Albert Owen07/09/2011Ynys MLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell07/09/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn07/09/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop08/09/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Cathy Jamieson08/09/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Katy Clark08/09/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Leech09/09/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin12/09/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/09/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby14/09/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Andrew George15/09/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea15/09/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd15/09/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jim McGovern10/10/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy10/10/2011WiganLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin10/10/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Andrew Stephenson11/10/2011PendleConservativeSigned
David Simpson12/10/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn12/10/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/10/2011GowerLabourSigned
Naomi Long18/10/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.