Parliament Website

Rural Broadband

EDM number 2211 in 2010-12, proposed by John Mann on 10/10/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Countryside and Internet and cybercrime.

That this House believes that mobile broadband has an important role to play in delivering internet access to rural communities; welcomes the action taken by the Rural Broadband Working Group, consisting of Three, Race Online and the Countryside Alliance, to identify areas in the UK that are poorly served by fixed broadband and to provide them with free mobile broadband access; notes that rural mobilebroadband coverage can be improved further by a timely and competitive spectrum auction that provides equitable access to low frequency spectrum following liberalisation of the 900 MHz spectrum; is concerned by reports that the 4G spectrum auction is to be delayed; and calls on the Government to support Ofcom in ensuring that the auction takes place next year as planned.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

John Mann10/10/2011BassetlawLabourProposed
Jim Shannon11/10/2011StrangfordDUPSeconded
Peter Bottomley11/10/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn11/10/2011Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie12/10/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Martin Caton12/10/2011GowerLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock12/10/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell13/10/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/10/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale17/10/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
David Anderson18/10/2011BlaydonLabourSigned
William McCrea18/10/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Naomi Long18/10/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
David Simpson18/10/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd19/10/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson19/10/2011Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
David Davies31/10/2011MonmouthConservativeSigned
Jonathan Edwards31/10/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Beith07/11/2011Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Walter14/11/2011North DorsetConservativeSigned
Grahame Morris14/11/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty21/11/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Bernard Jenkin24/11/2011Harwich and North EssexConservativeSigned
Anne Begg05/12/2011Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Roger Williams05/12/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson12/12/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper10/01/2012West LancashireLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.