Parliament Website

Campaign To Save The Waverley Paddle Steamer

EDM number 2214 in 2010-12, proposed by Alan Reid on 10/10/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Shipping.

That this House regrets that summer season2011 might see the last sailing of the paddle steamer Waverley; notes that the Waverley is the only such British vessel that has been preserved and still continues with its original function; recognises that it is the last ocean-going paddle steamer in the world; understands that an increase in the price of oil means that fuel now costs the Waverley 5,000 each day; welcomes the Waverley Appeal, launched by the Waverley Steam Navigation Co Ltd to keep the ship sailing; congratulates the campaigners on raising more than 140,000 towards their 350,000 target; encourages everyone to get behind the campaign; understands that, in July 2011 alone, the steamer had 32,500 passengers; further recognises the economic contribution that the Waverley and her passengers make to the many towns at which she berths on her regular excursions around the Firth of Clyde from the Glasgow Science Centre quay, as well as on her visits to many other ports around the British coast and her cruises under Tower Bridge; and hopes that the Waverley will still be sailing to celebrate the 200th anniversary of steam navigation on the Clyde next year.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Alan Reid10/10/2011Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratProposed
Iain McKenzie10/10/2011InverclydeLabourSeconded
Richard Drax10/10/2011South DorsetConservativeSeconded
Sandra Osborne10/10/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock10/10/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Marcus Jones11/10/2011NuneatonConservativeSeconded
Angus MacNeil11/10/2011Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Katy Clark11/10/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley11/10/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Dobbin11/10/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn11/10/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Williams12/10/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
James Gray12/10/2011North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Martin Caton12/10/2011GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/10/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Pugh13/10/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell13/10/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn13/10/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Jo Swinson13/10/2011East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Julian Huppert13/10/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern17/10/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Alan Meale17/10/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan18/10/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
David Anderson18/10/2011BlaydonLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy19/10/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
John Leech24/10/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland24/10/2011Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.