Parliament Website

Marzieh Vafamehr And Free Speech In Iran

EDM number 2268 in 2010-12, proposed by Michael Connarty on 18/10/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, International politics and government, Iran and Performing arts.

That this House condemns the conviction of Marzieh Vafamehr, an Iranian actress who has been sentenced to 90 lashes and one year in jail for her role in starring in the film My Tehran for Sale, an Australian film about an actress whose theatre work is banned in Iran; notes that Marzieh Vafamehr is not the only member of the Iranian film industry who has been arrested in recent years; further notes that Pegah Ahangarani, a popular Iranian actor was released from jail in July 2011, Jafar Panahi, an Iranian director received a six year prison sentence and a 20 year ban from film-making in 2010 and Ramin Parchami, an actor who voiced support for the Iranian opposition, remains in jail; believes that it is completely unacceptable that Marzieh Vafamehr and other members of the Iranian film industry are being imprisoned for their artistic activities; and calls on the Government to make representations to the Iranian authorities so that Marzieh and other Iranian actors and directors are released from prison immediately.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Michael Connarty18/10/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourProposed
John McDonnell18/10/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Andrew George18/10/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan18/10/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley18/10/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell18/10/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon19/10/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/10/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale19/10/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/10/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/10/2011GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/10/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Cryer19/10/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Robert Halfon19/10/2011HarlowConservativeSigned
Margaret Ritchie20/10/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Glenda Jackson20/10/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Julian Lewis20/10/2011New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Tony Lloyd20/10/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
John Leech24/10/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long24/10/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Elfyn Llwyd25/10/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Sandra Osborne25/10/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff25/10/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/10/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas26/10/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Graeme Morrice26/10/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin27/10/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Weatherley27/10/2011HoveConservativeSigned
Katy Clark27/10/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Clive Betts27/10/2011Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Jim Dowd27/10/2011Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Graham Brady27/10/2011Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Jim Sheridan27/10/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams31/10/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Valerie Vaz31/10/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Simon Wright31/10/2011Norwich SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Louise Ellman02/11/2011Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Mike Gapes12/01/2012Ilford SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.