Parliament Website


EDM number 2270 in 2010-12, proposed by Roger Godsiff on 18/10/2011.
Categorised under the topics of International politics and government and Middle East.

That this House notes with the gravest concern the growing escalation of the crisis in Syria and the ruthless repression of anti-government protesters; further notes that the reported death toll in the demonstrations that began in March 2011 against President Bashar al-Assad now exceeds 3000, including at least 187 children; welcomes the recent statement made by the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, Navi Pillay, who has called for international action to protect Syrian civilians and the intensification of diplomatic pressure on the Assad regime after the Arab League set a 15-day deadline for the Syrian government to open dialogue with the opposition in Cairo; shares the High Commissioner's concerns and those of the British-Syria All-Party Parliamentary Group who believe that the scale of the repression and daily killings are totally unacceptable and deserve international condemnation; further notes that Syria's recent incursion across the Lebanese border can only further destabilise the region; and calls on the Government to continue its efforts to bring about an end to the violence and a transition to democracy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Roger Godsiff18/10/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourProposed
Andrew Rosindell18/10/2011RomfordConservativeSeconded
Ian Davidson18/10/2011Glasgow South WestLabourSeconded
Bob Russell18/10/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley18/10/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan18/10/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George18/10/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds19/10/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards19/10/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Robert Halfon19/10/2011HarlowConservativeSigned
Lindsay Roy19/10/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/10/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/10/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell19/10/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
John McDonnell19/10/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/10/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Shannon19/10/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Martin Caton19/10/2011GowerLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson20/10/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd20/10/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Naomi Long24/10/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
John Leech24/10/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd25/10/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Sandra Osborne25/10/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/10/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams07/11/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice07/11/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Heidi Alexander14/12/2011Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Frank Field06/03/2012BirkenheadLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.