Parliament Website

European Parliament Written Declaration On Epilepsy

EDM number 2291 in 2010-12, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 20/10/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, European Parliament and Health services.

That this House welcomes the European Parliament's Written Declaration on Epilepsy 0022/2011, submitted by MEPs Gay Mitchell, Nirj Deva, Marian Harkin, Peter Skinner and Angelika Werthmann and passed on 15 September 2011; notes that the Declaration was signed by 459 MEPs, which is the third highest number of signatures of all disease-related declarations since 2004; further notes that the Declaration states that six million people in Europe have epilepsy, with 300,000 new cases diagnosed each year; is concerned that, according to the Declaration, 40 per cent. of people with epilepsy in Europe do not receive appropriate treatment and 40 per cent. of children with epilepsy have difficulties at school; acknowledges that, according to the Declaration, people with epilepsy in Europe experience high levels of unemployment, are exposed to stigma and prejudice and can experience disruption to every aspect of life which can impose physical, psychological and social burdens on individuals and families; further welcomes the Declaration's calls for research and innovation in prevention and early diagnosis and treatment and for the recognition of epilepsy as a major disease that imposes a significant burden; and urges the Government to take steps to comply with the Declaration's demands for EU member states to introduce appropriate legislation to protect the rights of all people with epilepsy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Valerie Vaz20/10/2011Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley20/10/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Adrian Sanders21/10/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Glenda Jackson21/10/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
John Leech24/10/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/10/2011Luton NorthLabourSeconded
John McDonnell24/10/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Meale24/10/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn24/10/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan24/10/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Elfyn Llwyd25/10/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Hancock25/10/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George25/10/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis25/10/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin25/10/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton25/10/2011GowerLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne25/10/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
David Simpson25/10/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon25/10/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie25/10/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell26/10/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Tredinnick27/10/2011BosworthConservativeSigned
Michael Connarty31/10/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Hywel Williams31/10/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Lindsay Roy31/10/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi08/11/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.