Parliament Website

Thames Tunnel

EDM number 2358 in 2010-12, proposed by Andy Slaughter on 01/11/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Water and Water industry.

That this House is concerned that the recent report by Lord Selborne, instigated by the London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham, long-standing opponents of the Thames Tunnel, fails to recommend an effective and timely solution to the regular damaging pollution to the tidal Thames in London by the 39 million tonnes of untreated sewage that enters the river in a typical year through the Combined Storm Overflows (CSOs) when the capital's Victorian sewage system, designed for a population of four million, rather than the current eight million, is overwhelmed by even a modest amount of rain; notes that the Selborne proposed shorter tunnel would leave 19 of the 34 most polluting CSOs untouched and would cause odour problems for West London as untreated sewage backs up in an inadequate network; and believes that whilst sustainable urban drainage is important it is no substitute for the planned Thames Tunnel which would end the harmful pollution of the Thames and North Sea, maintain London's reputation as a leading business and tourist centre, enable the UK to comply with the Urban Waste Water Treatment Directive and avoid the taxpayer facing huge daily fines.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

Andy Slaughter01/11/2011HammersmithLabourProposed
Gavin Shuker01/11/2011Luton SouthLabourSeconded
Zac Goldsmith01/11/2011Richmond ParkConservativeSeconded
Nick Raynsford01/11/2011Greenwich and WoolwichLabourSeconded
John Cryer01/11/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Virendra Sharma01/11/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
Diane Abbott01/11/2011Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner01/11/2011Brent NorthLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas01/11/2011Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn01/11/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins01/11/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge01/11/2011BarkingLabourSigned
Martin Caton02/11/2011GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin02/11/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jim Dowd02/11/2011Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Mike Hancock02/11/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.