Parliament Website

Parliamentary Reporting And Ian Hernon

EDM number 2390 in 2010-12, proposed by Louise Ellman on 07/11/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Broadcasting and Parliament.

That this House is concerned at the decision by Trinity Mirror North West to close its Westminster operation and the impact this will have on daily coverage of Parliamentary and constituency issues, the effect of which will result in making Ian Hernon, the most experienced lobby correspondent in Parliament, with 33 years of continuous service, the last 11 for the Liverpool Daily Post and Echo, redundant; recognises his reputation for straightforward reportage and political analysis; and is concerned that this could result in a diminution of Parliamentary reporting.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Louise Ellman07/11/2011Liverpool, RiversideLabourProposed
Steve Rotheram07/11/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSeconded
Frank Field07/11/2011BirkenheadLabourSeconded
Maria Eagle07/11/2011Garston and HalewoodLabourSeconded
Luciana Berger07/11/2011Liverpool, WavertreeLabourSeconded
Alan Meale08/11/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Tony Lloyd08/11/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn08/11/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley08/11/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Grahame Morris09/11/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Gerry Sutcliffe09/11/2011Bradford SouthLabourSigned
Graham Stringer09/11/2011Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/11/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/11/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner09/11/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
John Pugh09/11/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/11/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Tom Watson10/11/2011West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
Andrew Miller14/11/2011Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Tom Clarke14/11/2011Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Joe Benton14/11/2011BootleLabourSigned
Ian Lavery14/11/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn15/11/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Bob Stewart15/11/2011BeckenhamConservativeSigned
Jim McGovern15/11/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Angela Eagle15/11/2011WallaseyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin15/11/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick15/11/2011PrestonLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy22/11/2011Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen McCabe22/11/2011Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Pat Glass22/11/2011North West DurhamLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham25/11/2011WorkingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dowd29/11/2011Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.