Parliament Website

Fiscal Incentives For Energy Efficiency

EDM number 2544 in 2010-12, proposed by Alan Whitehead on 14/12/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Energy.

That this House welcomes the recommendation by the Environmental Audit Committee in its July 2011 report Budget 2011 and Environmental Taxes that `the Government should consider providing tax incentives, such as a council tax rebate or stamp duty discount, in next year's Budget to support the take-up of the Green Deal'; further welcomes too the commitment in Budget 2011 to `act to incentivise take-up of the Green Deal before it is introduced in 2012'; notes that the existing reduced rate offive per cent. VAT for energy-saving products excludes energy efficient boilers and windows and passive flue gas heat recovery systems; is concerned that the Landlords' Energy Saving Allowance (LESA) is claimed by less than 0.2 per cent. of UK landlords; therefore calls on the Government to introduce in Budget 2012 a package of fiscal incentives to encourage householders and landlords to install energy efficiency measures, to include afive per cent. VAT rate on all flue heat recovery installations and alsoon `A' rated boilers and `B' rated windows installed by Green Deal-accredited installers, a stamp duty rebate for purchasers making energy efficiency improvements to their home and an extended and increased LESA to incentivise early improvements in the private rented sector before the introduction of the minimum energy efficiency standard; and further calls for an early consultation on a revised system of Council Tax banding that reflects the energy efficiency rating of properties, accompanied by mechanisms to enable low income households to make improvements at low or no cost.

This motion has been signed by a total of 70 MPs.

Alan Whitehead14/12/2011Southampton, TestLabourProposed
Tim Yeo14/12/2011South SuffolkConservativeSeconded
Martin Horwood14/12/2011CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Aldous14/12/2011WaveneyConservativeSeconded
Martin Caton14/12/2011GowerLabourSeconded
John Leech14/12/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn15/12/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ian Lavery15/12/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley15/12/2011Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Alan Meale15/12/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/12/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock20/12/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson20/12/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd20/12/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
John McDonnell20/12/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Katy Clark10/01/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin10/01/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas10/01/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jim Shannon10/01/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
John Cryer10/01/2012Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
David Crausby11/01/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Michael Crockart17/01/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran18/01/2012Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
David Amess18/01/2012Southend WestConservativeSigned
Gordon Banks18/01/2012Ochil and South PerthshireLabourSigned
Lorely Burt20/01/2012SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan23/01/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tessa Munt23/01/2012WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders23/01/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mann24/01/2012BassetlawLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell24/01/2012North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Louise Ellman24/01/2012Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Frank Field24/01/2012BirkenheadLabourSigned
Joan Walley24/01/2012Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson24/01/2012Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Joan Ruddock25/01/2012Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
David Ward25/01/2012Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Wood25/01/2012Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff25/01/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
John Thurso25/01/2012Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long26/01/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Clive Betts26/01/2012Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson26/01/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn30/01/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
David Anderson30/01/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
Dave Watts30/01/2012St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Alan Beith30/01/2012Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Miller30/01/2012Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd30/01/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jimmy Hood30/01/2012Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
David Heyes30/01/2012Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
John Robertson31/01/2012Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn31/01/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne31/01/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
George Howarth01/02/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Ian Swales01/02/2012RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Yasmin Qureshi01/02/2012Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Martin Vickers02/02/2012CleethorpesConservativeSigned
Margaret Ritchie06/02/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Meacher06/02/2012Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Don Foster07/02/2012BathLiberal DemocratSigned
George Mudie08/02/2012Leeds EastLabourSigned
Michael Connarty08/02/2012Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy20/02/2012Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake20/02/2012Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper20/02/2012West LancashireLabourSigned
Julian Huppert20/02/2012CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan29/02/2012HalifaxLabourSigned
Stephen Williams29/02/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell05/03/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.