Parliament Website

Post-Traumatic Hypopituitarism And Head Injury

EDM number 2777 in 2010-12, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 27/02/2012.

That this House notes that head injury patients are at risk of post-traumatic hypopituitarism (PTHP) which may appear immediately after head injury or up to decades later; further notes that the effects of pituitary damage can include infertility, failure to grow in children, muscle loss in adults, weight problems, fatigue, depression, loss of sex drive, erectile dysfunction in men and loss of periods in women; is concerned about the increased risk of suicide after head injury and the potential links to PTHP; is further concerned that patients may not be warned of or diagnosed with PTHP following a head injury as the current sample discharge letter in the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE)head injury guideline makes no reference to PTHP; acknowledges that PTHP can be effectively treated with hormone replacement therapy; acknowledges that athletes and football players may be at particular risk owing to exposure to repetitive mild head trauma; is encouraged that the Football Association will be opening St George's Park as a centre of applied football research which will research the potential long-term effects of participation in the sport on the health of players; and calls on the Government to amend the NICE sample discharge advice and consider introducing routine screening for PTHP for head injury patients, to improve their quality of life and perhaps also to save the lives of athletes and the general public.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Valerie Vaz27/02/2012Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Bob Russell27/02/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale27/02/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan27/02/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon28/02/2012StrangfordDUPSeconded
William McCrea28/02/2012South AntrimDUPSeconded
Margaret Ritchie28/02/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John McDonnell28/02/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton28/02/2012GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin28/02/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock28/02/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell29/02/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dan Rogerson29/02/2012North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds29/02/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell29/02/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Pugh01/03/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon01/03/2012North DownIndependentSigned
Tony Lloyd01/03/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Andrew George01/03/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech01/03/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Crockart08/03/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Begg09/03/2012Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby16/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.