Parliament Website

Teepaimukh Dam And The Un Convention On Non-Navigable Watercourses

EDM number 2815 in 2010-12, proposed by John Hemming on 05/03/2012.

That this House notes the construction work that has commenced on the Teepaimukh Dam; expresses concern that this could cause considerable problems for people living in that area of India and also downstream in Bangladesh, particularly in the Sylhet region; further notes that India has not complied with the 1997 UN Convention on non-navigable watercourses; and calls for work on constructing the dam to cease, for the Indian government to comply with the UN Convention and enter into discussions with Bangladesh and for the UK Government to act as appropriate in support of the Convention.

This motion has been signed by a total of 14 MPs.

John Hemming05/03/2012Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratProposed
Alan Meale05/03/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan05/03/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mike Hancock05/03/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lorely Burt05/03/2012SolihullLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Simpson06/03/2012Upper BannDUPSeconded
Bob Russell06/03/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton06/03/2012GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn06/03/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Leech06/03/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards06/03/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ronnie Campbell07/03/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas09/03/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Khalid Mahmood14/03/2012Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.