Parliament Website

Coastguard Station Closure (No. 3)

EDM number 2848 in 2010-12, proposed by Katy Clark on 08/03/2012.

That this House is alarmed by the Government's plans to close coastguard stations at Clyde, Forth, Yarmouth, Thames, Portland, Brixham, Solent, Swansea and Liverpool; notes that this would reduce the number of coastguard stations in the UK from 19 to 10 with aggregate job losses of over 140 and have a negative economic impact on coastal communities; is deeply concerned over the maritime and other safety implications of reducing the number of coastguard stations; recognises that technological advances offer some opportunity for rescues to be co-ordinated from a distance but does not believe that the case has been made by the Government to implement these changes; believes that technology should complement the knowledge of local coastal areas which coastguards possess, not supplant it; and calls on the Government to ensure that no coastguard officer will be made redundant and step back from this hazardous reduction in the number of local coastguard stations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Katy Clark08/03/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins08/03/2012Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Bill Esterson08/03/2012Sefton CentralLabourSeconded
John McDonnell08/03/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale08/03/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Joan Ruddock09/03/2012Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd09/03/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Davidson09/03/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner12/03/2012BolsoverLabourSeconded
David Simpson12/03/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin12/03/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer12/03/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram13/03/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards13/03/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ian Lavery13/03/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Linda Riordan13/03/2012HalifaxLabourSigned
Hywel Williams13/03/2012ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Dave Watts13/03/2012St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/03/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Iain McKenzie14/03/2012InverclydeLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice14/03/2012LivingstonLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy14/03/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Kevin Barron14/03/2012Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff14/03/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/03/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/03/2012GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell14/03/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Albert Owen14/03/2012Ynys MLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne14/03/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Paul Murphy14/03/2012TorfaenLabourSigned
William McCrea14/03/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
Tony Cunningham14/03/2012WorkingtonLabourSigned
Geraint Davies15/03/2012Swansea WestLabourSigned
Mike Gapes15/03/2012Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Joan Walley15/03/2012Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Maria Eagle20/03/2012Garston and HalewoodLabourSigned
Jessica Morden21/03/2012Newport EastLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas22/03/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Adrian Sanders26/03/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz26/03/2012Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Nick Smith26/03/2012Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Anne McGuire16/04/2012StirlingLabourSigned
David Crausby16/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mark Tami16/04/2012Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
David Heyes19/04/2012Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
George Howarth23/04/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Anne Begg23/04/2012Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell26/04/2012North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil26/04/2012Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.