Parliament Website

National Employment Savings Trust

EDM number 2880 in 2010-12, proposed by Gareth Thomas on 15/03/2012.

That this House welcomes the National Employment Savings Trust (NEST) as a necessary intervention into the pensions market to provide low cost pensions for a new generation of savers; believes that the restrictions placed on NEST in the form of the annual contribution cap and transfer ban put a burden on businesses wishing to use NEST and are not in the interests of consumers who want to consolidate pensions savings in a single pensions pot; recognises that the restrictions on NEST have already delivered the policy intention of focusing NEST on developing products for low earners; notes that the Director General of the Association of British Insurers told the Work and Pensions Select Committee that NEST was setting standards for good value in the pensions market; further believes that the effect of driving up standards would be enhanced if the two restrictions were lifted; further notes that the Work and Pensions Select Committee called on the Government to remove these restrictions as a matter of urgency; and urges the Government to acknowledge the political consensus to remove NEST's restrictions and to do so at the earliest opportunity.

This motion has been signed by a total of 56 MPs.

John McDonnell09/03/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale09/03/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Gareth Thomas15/03/2012Harrow WestLabourProposed
Martin Caton20/03/2012GowerLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan20/03/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Hywel Francis20/03/2012AberavonLabourSeconded
Katy Clark20/03/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie21/03/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Gapes22/03/2012Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Malcolm Wicks22/03/2012Croydon NorthLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner22/03/2012Brent NorthLabourSigned
Adrian Bailey22/03/2012West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
David Wright22/03/2012TelfordLabourSigned
Brian Binley22/03/2012Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Natascha Engel22/03/2012North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy22/03/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Nick Smith22/03/2012Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore22/03/2012Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Pat Glass22/03/2012North West DurhamLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram22/03/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz22/03/2012Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Ian Mearns22/03/2012GatesheadLabourSigned
Grahame Morris22/03/2012EasingtonLabourSigned
David Morris22/03/2012Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeSigned
Debbie Abrahams22/03/2012Oldham East and SaddleworthLabourSigned
Clive Efford22/03/2012ElthamLabourSigned
Frank Roy22/03/2012Motherwell and WishawLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan22/03/2012Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Tom Harris22/03/2012Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
John Healey22/03/2012Wentworth and DearneLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood22/03/2012Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe22/03/2012Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Anne McGuire22/03/2012StirlingLabourSigned
Ann McKechin22/03/2012Glasgow NorthLabourSigned
Nick Brown22/03/2012Newcastle upon Tyne EastLabourSigned
Tom Clarke22/03/2012Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas22/03/2012Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
John Cryer22/03/2012Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham22/03/2012WorkingtonLabourSigned
Geraint Davies22/03/2012Swansea WestLabourSigned
Paul Flynn22/03/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell22/03/2012Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/03/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ian Davidson26/03/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/03/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce27/03/2012Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield27/03/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
John Leech27/03/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt27/03/2012SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson27/03/2012BlaydonLabourSigned
Andrew George27/03/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Alun Michael27/03/2012Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders27/03/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby16/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd16/04/2012EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes19/04/2012Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.