Parliament Website

Ethical Trading Standards And The London 2012 Olympics

EDM number 2969 in 2010-12, proposed by Jim Sheridan on 17/04/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Employment, Industrial relations and Sports.

That this House is concerned about press reports that UK Olympians will be asked to wear sporting equipment produced by exploited child labour; is further concerned that successful Olympians will be presented with medals produced by multi-national company Rio Tinto who have locked out their entire workforce in Alma, Quebec without any serious consultation; and, therefore calls on the Government and the Olympics governing body to ensure that ethical trading standards will be maintained during a hopefully successful Olympics in the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Jim Sheridan17/04/2012Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins17/04/2012Luton NorthLabourSeconded
David Crausby17/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Rosie Cooper17/04/2012West LancashireLabourSeconded
Lindsay Roy17/04/2012GlenrothesLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns17/04/2012GatesheadLabourSeconded
Ian Davidson17/04/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz17/04/2012Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan17/04/2012HalifaxLabourSigned
Mark Durkan17/04/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dobbin17/04/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn17/04/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd17/04/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood17/04/2012Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Bob Russell17/04/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson18/04/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards18/04/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Hancock18/04/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton18/04/2012GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell18/04/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner18/04/2012BolsoverLabourSigned
Jim Shannon18/04/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
John Robertson18/04/2012Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/04/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale18/04/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Katy Clark19/04/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Iain McKenzie19/04/2012InverclydeLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma19/04/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/04/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd19/04/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Adrian Sanders19/04/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson23/04/2012Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Paul Flynn24/04/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Mary Glindon24/04/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn25/04/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Ian Lavery25/04/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas30/04/2012Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.