Parliament Website

Universities Week 2012

EDM number 2975 in 2010-12, proposed by Roberta Blackman-Woods on 18/04/2012.
Categorised under the topic of Higher education.

That this House welcomes Universities Week 2012, running from 30 April to 7 May 2012; recognises the wide and varied role of UK universities and the pivotal part they are playing in this year's Olympic and Paralympic Games; further recognises that the UK's universities underpin the future growth and success of the UK; acknowledges that the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games are a good way to showcase this; celebrates the contribution that the UK's universities have always made to the Olympic movement; notes the importance of groundbreaking and innovative sporting research and development work being undertaken at institutions around the UK; further notes the positive impact universities and sport have on communities locally and globally; and therefore furtheracknowledges that the expertise and talent found in the UK's universities make important contributions to its communities and bring benefits for everyone,not just those who have attended university.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Roberta Blackman-Woods18/04/2012City of DurhamLabourProposed
Bob Russell18/04/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell18/04/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock18/04/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley18/04/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Julian Huppert18/04/2012CambridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan18/04/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/04/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale19/04/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/04/2012GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Williams19/04/2012Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma19/04/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd23/04/2012Manchester CentralLabourSigned
John Leech23/04/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby23/04/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jim Shannon24/04/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson24/04/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
Naomi Long24/04/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Paul Flynn24/04/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Hywel Francis24/04/2012AberavonLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn25/04/2012JarrowLabourSigned
Ian Lavery25/04/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Mark Williams26/04/2012CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy26/04/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield26/04/2012Sheffield CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.