Parliament Website

Higher Education

EDM number 430 in 2010-12, proposed by Barry Sheerman on 07/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Higher education.

That this House is deeply disturbed by the Government's intention to substantially reduce funding for higher education, which can offer the greatest prospect for a renaissance in the productive industries, innovation and the growth of the UK's export performance; further notes that, in addition, universities are critical to the creation and supply of the high level skills on which the future of the country's economic well-being depends; and therefore calls on the Government to reverse this decision which would not only destroy the hopes and ambitions of a generation but deeply damage the country's regional economies.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Barry Sheerman07/07/2010HuddersfieldLabourProposed
Eric Illsley08/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Alan Meale08/07/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan08/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Glenda Jackson12/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham12/07/2010Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn12/07/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram12/07/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn12/07/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie12/07/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gordon Marsden13/07/2010Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley13/07/2010York CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne13/07/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Joan Walley14/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Julie Elliott14/07/2010Sunderland CentralLabourSigned
Mary Glindon14/07/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Jenny Chapman14/07/2010DarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby15/07/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Kate Green15/07/2010Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop15/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Ian Lavery15/07/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis20/07/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Bill Esterson20/07/2010Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Rushanara Ali21/07/2010Bethnal Green and BowLabourSigned
Chi Onwurah22/07/2010Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/09/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Sharon Hodgson06/09/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.