Parliament Website

Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2010

EDM number 48 in 2010-12, proposed by Michael Connarty on 25/05/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Performing arts.

That this House recognises the excellence in jazz music in the UK, as honoured in the recent Parliamentary Jazz Awards for 2009-10, presented by the Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group APPJAG in the Houses of Parliament to Mark Lockheart, musician, Gareth Lockrane Septet's No Messin, jazz CD; Nigel Price Organ Trio, Jazz Ensemble; Jazz Bar, Edinburgh, Jazz Venue; Mike Flynn, Jazz Journalist, Alyn Shipton, Jazz Broadcaster, Jazzwise Jazz Publication, Dr Kathy Dyson, Jazz Educator and Brian Blain for Services to Jazz; congratulates PPL, who have funded and helped organise the Parliamentary Jazz Awards since their inception in 2005; recognises also the valuable support provided by Jazz Services in supporting jazz in the UK; and pays tribute to the musicians, promoters, venue owners, DJs, journalists and jazz music lovers who all make the UK jazz scene such a vibrant and important part of the UK creative industries.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Michael Connarty25/05/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley26/05/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Hywel Williams26/05/2010ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Graham Stringer26/05/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Mike Gapes26/05/2010Ilford SouthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins27/05/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Meale02/06/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Wayne David02/06/2010CaerphillyLabourSigned
Pete Wishart02/06/2010Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Mike Weatherley02/06/2010HoveConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn07/06/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Paul Murphy08/06/2010TorfaenLabourSigned
Ian Murray08/06/2010Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned
John Hemming08/06/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Whittingdale08/06/2010MaldonConservativeSigned
David Hamilton08/06/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Richard Ottaway08/06/2010Croydon SouthConservativeSigned
Alan Keen08/06/2010Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr10/06/2010North AntrimDUPSigned
Tom Watson10/06/2010West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin14/06/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Horwood14/06/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby21/06/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John McDonnell30/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.