Parliament Website

Treatment For Kidney Cancer

EDM number 491 in 2010-12, proposed by Sharon Hodgson on 13/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health services.

That this House observes that between 7,000 and 8,000 people are diagnosed with kidney cancer in the UK each year, and that around 40 per cent. of patients have advanced cancer at the time of diagnosis; notes that everolimus is the only licensed treatment for patients with advanced and/or metastatic renal cell carcinoma who have failed on first-line treatment; notes with concern that the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) has not recommended funding for everolimus; is concerned by the number of clinically effective cancer drugs which are turned down by NICE despite additional guidance on end-of-life medicines issued by NICE to the appraisal committees; and calls on NICE to reconsider its recommendations so that patients may be able to access this drug on the NHS.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Sharon Hodgson13/07/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourProposed
Russell Brown13/07/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSeconded
Si13/07/2010Swansea EastLabourSeconded
Catherine McKinnell13/07/2010Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSeconded
David Anderson13/07/2010BlaydonLabourSeconded
Roberta Blackman-Woods13/07/2010City of DurhamLabourSeconded
Jamie Reed13/07/2010CopelandLabourSigned
Chi Onwurah13/07/2010Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Julie Hilling13/07/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Kate Green13/07/2010Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Diana Johnson13/07/2010Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
David Wright13/07/2010TelfordLabourSigned
Christopher Leslie13/07/2010Nottingham EastLabourSigned
Mark Durkan14/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma14/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Leech14/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock14/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton14/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea14/07/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Glenda Jackson14/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins14/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson14/07/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Shannon14/07/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie14/07/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gregory Campbell14/07/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Eric Illsley15/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Steve Rotheram15/07/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop15/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Andrew George15/07/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds15/07/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin15/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Crausby19/07/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper20/07/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Albert Owen21/07/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy21/07/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Wayne David22/07/2010CaerphillyLabourSigned
Grahame Morris26/07/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Linda Riordan27/07/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin27/07/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Michael Connarty06/09/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne06/09/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.