Parliament Website

Self-Employment Practices In The Construction Industry

EDM number 525 in 2010-12, proposed by Stephen Hepburn on 15/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Construction industry.

That this House welcomes the launch of the Daily Mirror's campaign, Gizza Proper Job, opposing false self-employment; notes that, according to Professor Mark Harvey of Essex University, false self-employment in the construction industry alone costs the Exchequer at least 1.7 billion per annum; further notes that workers forced to operate falsely self-employed are denied even the most basic employment rights such as holiday pay, can be sacked at a moment's notice, do not have pensions and are denied other benefits; considers that false self-employment also leads to an increase in workplace fatalities and accidents and thatsuch exploitation of workers should not be tolerated in the 21st century; and therefore calls on the Government to introduce measures to abolish false self-employment and ensure that all affected workers receive full employment rights.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Stephen Hepburn15/07/2010JarrowLabourProposed
David Anderson15/07/2010BlaydonLabourSeconded
Bridget Phillipson15/07/2010Houghton and Sunderland SouthLabourSeconded
Mary Glindon15/07/2010North TynesideLabourSeconded
Julie Elliott15/07/2010Sunderland CentralLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell15/07/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris15/07/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson19/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby19/07/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech19/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Rotheram20/07/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin20/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Alan Meale20/07/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner20/07/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Martin Caton20/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Albert Owen21/07/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Ian Davidson21/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Hywel Francis21/07/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley21/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Pugh22/07/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mann26/07/2010BassetlawLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
George Howarth27/07/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
Stephen Pound27/07/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty06/09/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/09/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne06/09/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Bill Esterson06/09/2010Sefton CentralLabourSigned
David Ward07/09/2010Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Kevin Barron16/09/2010Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Julie Hilling16/09/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Russell Brown14/10/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.