Parliament Website

Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani (No. 3)

EDM number 535 in 2010-12, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 19/07/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Iran.

That this House notes with grave concern that despite the decision by the Chief of Iran's judiciary temporarily to halt the inhumane sentence of stoning to death for Sakineh Mohammadi Ashtiani, there remains the possibility that she will be executed in another manner; further notes that there are 15 other Iranians who face the same method of execution; believes that Iran has a duty to uphold its commitments to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, which requires states that have not abolished the death penalty to inhibit its use to the most serious crimes; and urges the Government to continue to press the Iranian government to grant Mrs Ashtiani a complete reprieve and ensure that the 15 other individuals do not fall victim to the cruel and barbaric fate of being stoned to death.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Valerie Vaz19/07/2010Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley19/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George19/07/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan19/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Martin Caton20/07/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins20/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson20/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
John McDonnell20/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell21/07/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ian Davidson21/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz21/07/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Julian Lewis22/07/2010New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Marsha Singh26/07/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma26/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell26/07/2010North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Simon Hughes27/07/2010Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas06/09/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Katy Clark06/09/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Helen Goodman06/09/2010Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Jim Shannon07/09/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nicholas Dakin09/09/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi14/09/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Julie Hilling14/09/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Mark Williams15/09/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long19/01/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.