Parliament Website

Labour Law In Iraq (No. 2)

EDM number 559 in 2010-12, proposed by David Anderson on 20/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial relations and Iraq.

That this House recalls the near liquidation of a once strong and non-sectarian trade union movement by the dictatorial regime of Saddam Hussein; salutes those who have devoted themselves to rebuilding a labour movement in Iraq before and since his overthrow with important moral and material support from the Trades Union Congress and several trade unions in the UK as well as many other national trade union centres and global union federations who believe that the right to free association is a key element of a vibrant democracy and social justice; supports the General Federation of Iraqi Workers and the Kurdistan United Workers' Union joint campaign for a new labour code which would enshrine such rights and which enjoys the support of the Iraqi President; notes that positive moves in this direction have now been undermined by elements within Iraqi government, attempting to force Iraqi unions to hold elections under Saddam's deeply flawed 1987 labour law; deplores, along with the International Trade Union Confederation, the decision on 12 May 2010of the Higher Ministerial Committee to prohibit all travel by trade union delegations to international meetings or conferences without its approval; and respectfullyurges the Iraqi government to reverse this decision in favour of adopting a Labour code that complies with International Labour Organisation standards.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Anderson20/07/2010BlaydonLabourProposed
Tony Baldry20/07/2010BanburyConservativeSeconded
Mike Gapes20/07/2010Ilford SouthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley20/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Graeme Morrice20/07/2010LivingstonLabourSeconded
Sharon Hodgson20/07/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan20/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards21/07/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Tom Greatrex21/07/2010Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Francis21/07/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin21/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton21/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell21/07/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale21/07/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson21/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Ian Davidson21/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner22/07/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Paul Flynn22/07/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
John Leech22/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Blenkinsop22/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Frank Doran26/07/2010Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
George Howarth27/07/2010KnowsleyLabourSigned
David Crausby06/09/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff06/09/2010Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Hamilton06/09/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Helen Goodman06/09/2010Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Andrew Gwynne06/09/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi14/09/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Julie Hilling14/09/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Russell Brown14/10/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.