Parliament Website

Sleep Apnoea And Road Deaths

EDM number 565 in 2010-12, proposed by Jim Dobbin on 20/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Crime and Roads.

That this House notes that obstructive sleep apnoea is a common sleep disorder potentially causing drowsiness during waking hours that makes falling asleep at the wheel much more likely; expresses concern that recent academic research suggested that one in six lorry drivers may suffer from the disorder; further notes that, if left undiagnosed and untreated, sufferers pose a direct threat to themselves and others on the road when driving; further notes that one of the key causes of obstructive sleep apnoea is being overweight or obese and that long term, managed weight loss can contribute to effective treatment; welcomes recently published independent research which demonstrates that weight loss achieved using nutritional interventions and maintained over a year can considerably improve the symptoms of obstructive sleep apnoea; congratulates Brake, the road safety charity, on using its Parliamentary Reception to draw attention to the dangers of obstructive sleep apnoea; and calls on policymakers and practitioners to ensure that obstructive sleep apnoea is effectively diagnosed and treated to prevent sufferers of the disorder adding to the terrible toll of death and injury on roads.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Jim Dobbin20/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourProposed
Nigel Dodds20/07/2010Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan20/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale20/07/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
John Pugh20/07/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley21/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon21/07/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins21/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Naomi Long21/07/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Albert Owen21/07/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell21/07/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton21/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/07/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock21/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz21/07/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
John Leech22/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn22/07/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
John Hemming22/07/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie26/07/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma26/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield26/07/2010Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Stephenson26/07/2010PendleConservativeSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Simon Hughes27/07/2010Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSigned
David Hamilton06/09/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood06/09/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
David Simpson07/09/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell07/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi14/09/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Julie Hilling14/09/2010Bolton WestLabourSigned
Mark Williams15/09/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Wright19/10/2010Norwich SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper02/12/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell15/12/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.