Parliament Website

National Institute Of Economic And Social Research Study Of Caste-Based Discrimination In The UK

EDM number 572 in 2010-12, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 20/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Equality and Ethnic groups.

That this House notes that the National Institute of Economic and Social Research has been commissioned to carry out in-depth research to examine the extent of caste-based prejudice and discrimination in the UK; welcomes a provision in the Equality Act 2010 inserted by amendment of the Equality Bill, which enabled the Government to make caste-based discrimination illegal in the UK; and calls on the current Government to share the findings of the research in order to permit the outlawing of discrimination on the grounds of caste.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Jeremy Corbyn20/07/2010Islington NorthLabourProposed
Jo Swinson20/07/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley20/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John McDonnell20/07/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd20/07/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Mike Hancock20/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George20/07/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams20/07/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan20/07/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
John Leech20/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Baldry20/07/2010BanburyConservativeSigned
Diane Abbott20/07/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan20/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton20/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/07/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Naomi Long21/07/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Stephen Williams21/07/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz21/07/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Ian Davidson21/07/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell21/07/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson21/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
John Hemming22/07/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Blenkinsop22/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Marsha Singh26/07/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Lorely Burt26/07/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma26/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Simon Hughes27/07/2010Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake06/09/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Wood06/09/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Katy Clark06/09/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Helen Goodman06/09/2010Bishop AucklandLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.