Parliament Website

Human Rights In Iran And Sanctions Against Iranian Officials

EDM number 576 in 2010-12, proposed by Alec Shelbrooke on 21/07/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Iran.

That this House supports the imposition and enforcement through the United Nations of an international travel ban and personal financial sanctions on the 15 leading Iranian officials named in the Men of violence report published by the International Campaign for Human Rights in Iran and held responsible in that report for carrying out the brutal repression against peaceful protestors and civil society activists detailed on the website of the Iran Human Rights Group; considers that those repressive measures were in direct contravention of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights; and further supports the International Campaign for Human Rights in Iran, which backs Iranian human rights activists and defenders of the civil, political, social and economic rights Iran is obliged to uphold as a subscriber to the international framework of human rights treaties and standards.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Alec Shelbrooke21/07/2010Elmet and RothwellConservativeProposed
Robert Syms21/07/2010PooleConservativeSeconded
Therese Coffey21/07/2010Suffolk CoastalConservativeSeconded
David Davis21/07/2010Haltemprice and HowdenConservativeSeconded
Andrew Percy21/07/2010Brigg and GooleConservativeSeconded
Kevan Jones21/07/2010North DurhamLabourSeconded
Stephen Pound21/07/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Bob Russell21/07/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan21/07/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gloria De Piero21/07/2010AshfieldLabourSigned
Robert Halfon21/07/2010HarlowConservativeSigned
Tristram Hunt21/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Thomas Docherty21/07/2010Dunfermline and West FifeLabourSigned
Mike Hancock22/07/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Blenkinsop22/07/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley22/07/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis22/07/2010New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Glenda Jackson22/07/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin22/07/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Marsha Singh26/07/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/07/2010GowerLabourSigned
John Leech26/07/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma26/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Eric Illsley27/07/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Simon Hughes27/07/2010Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSigned
Tracey Crouch27/07/2010Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSigned
Stephen Lloyd27/07/2010EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Hood06/09/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Roger Williams06/09/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Helen Goodman06/09/2010Bishop AucklandLabourSigned
Russell Brown14/10/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Tessa Munt19/11/2010WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
David Mowat14/12/2010Warrington SouthConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.