Parliament Website

Academi Hywel Teifi, Swansea University

EDM number 701 in 2010-12, proposed by Hywel Francis on 08/09/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Higher education.

That this House congratulates Swansea University on establishing Academi Hywel Teifi in memory of the distinguished Welsh academic, the late Professor Hywel Teifi Edwards of Aberarth and Llangennech; recognises that the Academi's purposes are to promote learning and teaching through the medium of the Welsh language throughout the community and scholarship through the medium of the language; places on record its appreciation of the outstanding life and work of Professor Edwards as a teacher, scholar, broadcaster, politician and defender and promoter of the Welsh language and especially in supporting Welsh learners; recalls with pride that the winner of the Chair at this year's National Eisteddfod in Blaenau Gwent was Swansea University's Tudur Hallam whose verse was a celebration of Professor Edwards' devoted and enthusiastic commitment to Wales, its culture, its people and its future; and notes that the new Academi will build on the progress in recent years of the Welsh language being a source of pride for all communities in Wales, rather than a cause of division.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Hywel Francis08/09/2010AberavonLabourProposed
Nia Griffith08/09/2010LlanelliLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards08/09/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Mark Williams08/09/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSeconded
Si08/09/2010Swansea EastLabourSeconded
Glyn Davies08/09/2010MontgomeryshireConservativeSeconded
Paul Flynn08/09/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Chris Evans08/09/2010IslwynLabourSigned
Susan Elan Jones08/09/2010Clwyd SouthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams08/09/2010ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Tami08/09/2010Alyn and DeesideLabourSigned
Geraint Davies08/09/2010Swansea WestLabourSigned
Wayne David08/09/2010CaerphillyLabourSigned
Chris Bryant08/09/2010RhonddaLabourSigned
Kevin Brennan08/09/2010Cardiff WestLabourSigned
Paul Murphy08/09/2010TorfaenLabourSigned
Alun Michael08/09/2010Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Ian Lucas08/09/2010WrexhamLabourSigned
Dai Havard08/09/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Alun Cairns08/09/2010Vale of GlamorganConservativeSigned
John McDonnell09/09/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Roger Williams09/09/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/09/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd13/09/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Dan Rogerson13/09/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock14/09/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell15/09/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech15/09/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton11/10/2010GowerLabourSigned
David Davies11/10/2010MonmouthConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.