Parliament Website

Funding For Fire Services

EDM number 921 in 2010-12, proposed by Alan Meale on 28/10/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Fire services.

That this House is aware that in recent independent polls carried out in the UK which enquired into what the public thought about its fire services, 93 per cent. believed they provided a good or very good service, 82 per cent. were satisfied or very satisfied with their local fire and rescue service, 85 per cent. opposed plans to cut funding for such services and 95 per cent. opposed any reduction in the number of firefighters; recalls that in the year to March 2010 a total of 7,098 people were rescued from fires in the UK; believes that any further cuts will lead to slower response times to emergency incidents, put the safety of the public and firefighters at risk and will lead to increased fire losses which in turn will destroy jobs and damage economies; and calls on the Government to desist from carrying out cuts to these necessary services which the general public overwhelmingly supports.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Alan Meale28/10/2010MansfieldLabourProposed
John McDonnell28/10/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner01/11/2010BolsoverLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin01/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Sharon Hodgson01/11/2010Washington and Sunderland WestLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins01/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan01/11/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma01/11/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Martin Caton02/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Mike Hancock02/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards02/11/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Eric Illsley03/11/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Keith Vaz03/11/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop03/11/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Jim McGovern03/11/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Hywel Williams03/11/2010ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Connarty03/11/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell03/11/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell03/11/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/11/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Mann04/11/2010BassetlawLabourSigned
Joan Walley08/11/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon08/11/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Marsha Singh09/11/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Tom Harris16/11/2010Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Simon Danczuk17/11/2010RochdaleLabourSigned
Lady Hermon18/11/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Ian Mearns18/11/2010GatesheadLabourSigned
David Crausby02/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Grahame Morris06/12/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Pat Glass13/12/2010North West DurhamLabourSigned
George Mudie15/12/2010Leeds EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.