Parliament Website

Commercialisation And Childhood

EDM number 969 in 2010-12, proposed by David Morris on 08/11/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Children's social services.

That this House notes that childhood is a marketing opportunity worth 99 billion in the UK; is concerned about the effect on children's wellbeing of the volume and some methods of advertising of children's products; is particularly concerned about the use of sex to sell to children; welcomes Mothers' Union's Bye Buy Childhood campaign which challenges the commercialisation of childhood; recalls the Government's promise to tackle the commercialisation and sexualisation of childhood; and calls upon the Government to take steps to fully prohibit sexualised media, marketing and products aimed at or easily accessible to children under 16.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

David Morris08/11/2010Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeProposed
Mark Durkan09/11/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
John McDonnell09/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Martin Caton10/11/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell10/11/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Gregory Campbell10/11/2010East LondonderryDUPSeconded
Jim Shannon10/11/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Mike Hancock10/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark11/11/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley11/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jim Dobbin11/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson12/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Annette Brooke12/11/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Tessa Munt12/11/2010WellsLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Hemming15/11/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson16/11/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Lloyd16/11/2010EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long17/11/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Ian Lavery17/11/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/11/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alun Cairns19/11/2010Vale of GlamorganConservativeSigned
Roger Williams19/11/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma22/11/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Bob Russell25/11/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson29/11/2010North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby02/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nigel Dodds09/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Nick Smith14/12/2010Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd12/01/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Bill Esterson26/01/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Dai Havard31/01/2011Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Mark Williams03/02/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Julian Brazier16/03/2011CanterburyConservativeSigned
Penny Mordaunt05/12/2011Portsmouth NorthConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.