Parliament Website

Elections In Burma And Advance Voting

EDM number 989 in 2010-12, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 11/11/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and International politics and government.

That this House notes with concern reports of widespread manipulation of advance votes during the recent Burmese elections, boycotted by the National League for Democracy; believes that this is yet another blow to the prospects for democracy in Burma; dismisses this election as no more than a sham to reinforce the ruling regime's power; and urges the Government to make further representations for the immediate and unconditional release of Aung San Suu Kyi and more than 2,200 other prisoners of conscience currently detained in Burma.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Valerie Vaz11/11/2010Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Ian Mearns11/11/2010GatesheadLabourSeconded
Bob Russell11/11/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan11/11/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley12/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Linda Riordan12/11/2010HalifaxLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson12/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mark Reckless12/11/2010Rochester and StroodConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton15/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin15/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/11/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Shannon16/11/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Mike Hancock16/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale16/11/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
David Simpson16/11/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell17/11/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Andrew George17/11/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Lavery17/11/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie18/11/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tom Blenkinsop18/11/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Eric Illsley24/11/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
John Hemming29/11/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby07/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Connarty13/12/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.