Parliament Website

World Pneumonia Day

EDM number 992 in 2010-12, proposed by Jim Dobbin on 11/11/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Health education and preventive medicine and International development.

That this House notes that pneumonia is the world's leading killer of children under five years worldwide, killing over 1.5 million children each year, with one child dying every 20 seconds; further notes that pneumonia is both preventable and treatable; welcomes the work of the GAVI alliance to promote the widespread introduction of vaccines to combat pneumonia and the work of other international organisations including IVAC, Save the Children, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, UNICEF and others in their efforts to prevent and treat pneumonia in the developing world; further welcomes the UK event for World Pneumonia Day 2010 which is being hosted by the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Global Action Against Childhood Pneumonia; further welcomes the support from the UK Government for World Pneumonia Day and the work of DFID on other pneumonia initiatives; and calls on the Government to continue to play a prominent role in helping to prevent pneumonia.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Jim Dobbin11/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourProposed
Eilidh Whiteford11/11/2010Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySeconded
David Crausby11/11/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Greg Mulholland11/11/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Nigel Dodds11/11/2010Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Brian Binley11/11/2010Northampton SouthConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell11/11/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan11/11/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Amess11/11/2010Southend WestConservativeSigned
Glenda Jackson12/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley12/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Annette Brooke12/11/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton15/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/11/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Gapes15/11/2010Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock16/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Simpson16/11/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Meale16/11/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Marsha Singh16/11/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Jim Shannon16/11/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Jimmy Hood17/11/2010Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell17/11/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/11/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Andrew George17/11/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz17/11/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Ian Lavery17/11/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop18/11/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Mary Glindon22/11/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Eric Illsley24/11/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
John Hemming29/11/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern29/11/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lindsay Roy09/12/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Michael Connarty13/12/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.