Parliament Website

Colombian Indigenous Peoples And Mining

EDM number 1082 in 2012-13, proposed by Martin Horwood on 13/02/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Latin America.

That this House welcomes the Colombian Constitutional Court's decision to order the Colombian government to protect 34 indigenous groups at risk of extinction; is deeply concerned by the Colombian government's slowness to respond to the order made in 2009 and by the fact that none of the survival plans have been fully implemented; notes that mining in indigenous territories is contributing to the risk of extinction; further welcomes the Constitutional Court's suspension of mining operations at the Mand Norte project in Embera Katio indigenous territory given the irregularities in the prior consultation process under United Nations International Labour Organization Convention 169, to which Colombia is a signatory; further notes that British-registered corporation Rio Tinto Mining and Exploration Limited has a 70 per cent joint venture option on exploitation rights at Mand Norte project; is concerned that the Embera Katio indigenous leaders resisting mining in their territories have been threatened; calls on the Colombian government to ensure the right of the indigenous people to prior consent is upheld; further calls on the UK Government to encourage the Colombian government to uphold the rights of indigenous peoples; and further calls on the UK Government to raise these concerns with the Colombian government and to monitor the implementation of the survival plans, particularly that of the Aw peoples.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Martin Horwood13/02/2013CheltenhamLiberal DemocratProposed
Caroline Lucas13/02/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn13/02/2013Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley13/02/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Michael Weir13/02/2013AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Julian Huppert13/02/2013CambridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell13/02/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty13/02/2013Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Andrew George13/02/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale14/02/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Paul Flynn14/02/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma14/02/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards25/02/2013Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Valerie Vaz25/02/2013Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/02/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan25/02/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie26/02/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Sheridan26/02/2013Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/02/2013GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin26/02/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Katy Clark26/02/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim McGovern26/02/2013Dundee WestLabourSigned
David Ward26/02/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/02/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea27/02/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/02/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ian Lavery27/02/2013WansbeckLabourSigned
George Galloway28/02/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Andrew Stunell06/03/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell25/03/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.