Parliament Website

A Day Without News? Campaign

EDM number 1110 in 2012-13, proposed by Kate Hoey on 26/02/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Media, Military operations and Press.

That this House welcomes the launch of the A Day Without News? campaign which is supported by Human Rights Watch, Reporters Without Borders, the Committee to Protect Journalists and the Rory Peck Trust; notes that it aims to draw sharper attention to the growing number of journalists who are being killed and injured while reporting on armed conflict in some cases as a result of direct targeting by the belligerents; further notes that A Day Without News? representatives will meet with governments who have shown interest and support for the campaign while pushing for political and diplomatic efforts on behalf of journalists working in conflict areas and partnering with educational institutions and those non-governmental organisations dedicated to the issue to identify, investigate and ultimately prosecute perpetrators where media personnel have been targeted and killed; and wishes the campaign well.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Kate Hoey26/02/2013VauxhallLabourProposed
Austin Mitchell26/02/2013Great GrimsbyLabourSeconded
Frank Field26/02/2013BirkenheadLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan26/02/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
John Cryer26/02/2013Leyton and WansteadLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn26/02/2013Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie27/02/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon27/02/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/02/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/02/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale27/02/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Andrew George27/02/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Baldry27/02/2013BanburyConservativeSigned
Katy Clark27/02/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Jim McGovern27/02/2013Dundee WestLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma27/02/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Linda Riordan28/02/2013HalifaxLabourSigned
Martin Caton28/02/2013GowerLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley01/03/2013Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell04/03/2013East LondonderryDUPSigned
Frank Dobson04/03/2013Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/03/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas05/03/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Hywel Williams05/03/2013ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
William McCrea06/03/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Ian Lavery06/03/2013WansbeckLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell06/03/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John Robertson06/03/2013Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Naomi Long07/03/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Jim Dobbin07/03/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Michael Crockart07/03/2013Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Kevin Barron11/03/2013Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley11/03/2013York CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby10/04/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.