Parliament Website

Plasma Resources And UK Health

EDM number 1164 in 2012-13, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 07/03/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Companies and Health services.

That this House notes the Government has put the state-owned Plasma Resources UK (PRUK) out to a merchant bank to arrange its privatisation despite the fact that PRUK was originally purchased to safeguard the British plasma supply after the BSE crisis left the UK unable to harvest safe plasma from its own population, as most developed countries do; further notes that without PRUK the UK will be left buying its plasma supplies on the open market where there are supply chain issues of the sort that saw horses being re-labelled as beef; believes this penny-pinching neglect of safety procedures in the collection of plasma may well lead to an increased risk of infection; and calls on the Government to cancel immediately the instruction to sell PRUK and guarantee that this company will instead be held in perpetuity to protect the health of the people of the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn07/03/2013Islington NorthLabourProposed
Frank Dobson07/03/2013Holborn and St PancrasLabourSeconded
Hywel Williams07/03/2013ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Dennis Skinner11/03/2013BolsoverLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan11/03/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Graham Stringer11/03/2013Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Paul Flynn11/03/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
David Anderson11/03/2013BlaydonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon12/03/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell12/03/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton12/03/2013GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin12/03/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
George Galloway12/03/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Virendra Sharma12/03/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz13/03/2013Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock13/03/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale13/03/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell13/03/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell13/03/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Lady Hermon13/03/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Glenda Jackson14/03/2013Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds14/03/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/03/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea19/03/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell19/03/2013East LondonderryDUPSigned
Caroline Lucas20/03/2013Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Steve Rotheram20/03/2013Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon22/03/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
George Howarth25/03/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Mike Thornton25/03/2013EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby10/04/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley17/04/2013York CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.