Parliament Website

Recognition Of The Kurdish Genocide

EDM number 1172 in 2012-13, proposed by Robert Halfon on 12/03/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, Ethnic groups, International politics and government, Iraq, Middle East and Racial discrimination.

That this House warmly welcomes the historic resolution of 28 February 2013 to unanimously recognise the Kurdish genocide; further welcomes the constructive responses to the mood of the House by both the Foreign Office Minister and his Opposition counterpart in agreeing to work together and with Kurdistan regional government representatives to try to overcome legal obstacles and find a suitable pathway for recognition by the Government; believes that the debate showed Parliament at its best with compassion, honesty and compromise; and hopes that these discussions can allow the Government, which is deeply respected in the Kurdistan region, to help lead the way in bringing comfort and justice to its people whose lives and society remain deeply affected by the genocide, which will be marked in many places, including by British parliamentarians in the Kurdistan region itself, on the anniversary of the chemical bombardment of Halabja on 16 March 2013.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Robert Halfon12/03/2013HarlowConservativeProposed
Mark Durkan12/03/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George12/03/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley12/03/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale13/03/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
David Anderson13/03/2013BlaydonLabourSeconded
John Leech13/03/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin13/03/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon13/03/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie13/03/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Pugh14/03/2013SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/03/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/03/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
Bob Blackman14/03/2013Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Jonathan Edwards18/03/2013Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Hancock18/03/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes18/03/2013Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson18/03/2013Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/03/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd19/03/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Naomi Long19/03/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
David Ward19/03/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Marsden20/03/2013Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton21/03/2013GowerLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy21/03/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
John McDonnell22/03/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon22/03/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Hywel Williams16/04/2013ArfonPlaid CymruSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.