Parliament Website

Ushakov Medal For Arctic Convoy Veterans

EDM number 630 in 2012-13, proposed by John Leech on 24/10/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Armed forces, Military operations, Russia and Shipping.

That this House pays tribute to the bravery of the thousands of heroes who sailed on Arctic Convoys to the Soviet Union through Nazi air, submarine and battle attacks in sub-zero conditions enabling the Soviet Union to be supplied during the Second World War; pays respect to the more than 3,000 troops who did not survive the perilous sea campaign; notes that survivors, including Manchester resident Bob Cowan, are now in their late eighties and nineties; and urges the Government swiftly toreconsider its decision to deny the opportunity for survivors to accept the Ushakov medal from the Russian government and be rightly commended for their services during the Second World War.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

John Leech24/10/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell24/10/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley24/10/2012Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martin Caton25/10/2012GowerLabourSeconded
Alan Meale25/10/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
John McDonnell25/10/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn26/10/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards29/10/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Mike Hancock29/10/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George29/10/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Menzies Campbell29/10/2012North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins29/10/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders29/10/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy30/10/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Mark Williams30/10/2012CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby30/10/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jim Shannon30/10/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Steve Rotheram31/10/2012Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Craig Whittaker31/10/2012Calder ValleyConservativeSigned
Michael Weir31/10/2012AngusScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff31/10/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell31/10/2012East LondonderryDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden31/10/2012Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Dai Havard31/10/2012Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Mary Glindon01/11/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Hywel Francis01/11/2012AberavonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds01/11/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Naomi Long01/11/2012Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Jessica Morden02/11/2012Newport EastLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell05/11/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Marcus Jones05/11/2012NuneatonConservativeSigned
Elfyn Llwyd06/11/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jim McGovern09/11/2012Dundee WestLabourSigned
John Hemming12/11/2012Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Lloyd12/11/2012EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Horwood19/11/2012CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Morris21/11/2012Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeSigned
Andrew Stunell21/11/2012Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson22/11/2012Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Fiona O'Donnell22/11/2012East LothianLabourSigned
Paul Flynn27/11/2012Newport WestLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty28/11/2012Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.