Parliament Website

Diabetic Retinopathy

EDM number 664 in 2012-13, proposed by Keith Vaz on 31/10/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health services.

That this House welcomes the announcement by Moorfields Eye Hospital of a Diabetics Eye Day on 17 November 2012 in which diabetics are to learn about new therapies and current research into diabetic retinopathy; notes that 80 per cent of people who have had diabetes for 10 years or more will suffer from the condition; further notes that diabetic retinopathy is the leading cause of blindness in working adults in the UK; and calls on the Department of Health to guide the NHS Commissioning Board towards national diabetic retinopathy awareness and to make diabetic retinopathy a priority.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Keith Vaz31/10/2012Leicester EastLabourProposed
Bob Russell31/10/2012ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Julian Lewis01/11/2012New Forest EastConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale01/11/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
John Leech01/11/2012Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ian Lavery01/11/2012WansbeckLabourSeconded
Nigel Dodds01/11/2012Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/11/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders05/11/2012TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon05/11/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/11/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin05/11/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan05/11/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Martin Caton06/11/2012GowerLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/11/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie06/11/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Hancock07/11/2012Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George07/11/2012St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway07/11/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
David Crausby07/11/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
William McCrea07/11/2012South AntrimDUPSigned
David Simpson07/11/2012Upper BannDUPSigned
John Pugh08/11/2012SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
George Howarth08/11/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma08/11/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Shaun Woodward13/11/2012St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Michael Crockart19/11/2012Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark28/11/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.