Parliament Website

War In Kachin State, Burma

EDM number 909 in 2012-13, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 14/01/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and International politics and government.

That this House condemns the Burma Army's military offensive against the ethnic Kachin; expresses grave concern over the recent use of aerial bombardment in the offensive; notes with serious concern the significant escalation in the conflict, including a major increase in Burma Army troops and use of landmines on the frontlines; further condemns the continuing use of rape as a weapon of war; expresses serious concern about the displacement of over 100,000 people and the humanitarian crisis developing as a result of restrictions imposed by the government of Burma on international aid to the affected areas; calls on the government of Burma to stop attacks immediately and to engage in a meaningful political dialogue with the Kachin Independence Organisation to establish a peace process; further calls on the Government to respond to the urgent humanitarian needs arising from the conflict by increasing humanitarian assistance to internally-displaced people in Kachin State via local community organisations on the ground; and further calls on the Government to work within the EU to halt relaxation of economic sanctions and new trade and investments in Burma if there is not an immediate cessation of attacks.

This motion has been signed by a total of 25 MPs.

Valerie Vaz14/01/2013Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Bob Russell14/01/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley14/01/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Fiona Bruce14/01/2013CongletonConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon15/01/2013StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan15/01/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale15/01/2013MansfieldLabourSigned
Andrew George15/01/2013St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie16/01/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell16/01/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell16/01/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/01/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
John Pugh17/01/2013SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock17/01/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton17/01/2013GowerLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy21/01/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
David Simpson22/01/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
Roger Godsiff23/01/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson24/01/2013North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward24/01/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Gerald Kaufman12/03/2013Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Roger Williams26/03/2013Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Tessa Jowell17/04/2013Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Fiona O'Donnell22/04/2013East LothianLabourSigned
John Leech23/04/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.