Parliament Website

Abortions Of Baby Girls

EDM number 936 in 2012-13, proposed by Fiona Bruce on 16/01/2013.
Categorised under the topic of Medical ethics.

That this House, in acknowledging that there is a wide range of different but sincerely held views on the issue of abortion law, nevertheless unites in registering its profound shock at recent confirmation by the Department of Health that there are discrepancies in the balance between the number of boys and girls born to groups of women from some overseas countries to an extent that `falls outside the range considered possible without intervention'; is appalled that there now appears to be evidence of significant numbers of baby girls being aborted illegally in the UK simply because of their gender; reminds the police and Crown Prosecution Service that abortion on the grounds of gender is illegal; and, in demanding immediate and effective enforcement of the law in this area, calls on the Department of Health to put in place procedures to record in future the gender of babies aborted under the provisions of the Abortion Act 1967 so that statistical evidence of crime cannot be hidden.

This motion has been signed by a total of 53 MPs.

Fiona Bruce16/01/2013CongletonConservativeProposed
Jim Dobbin16/01/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Alan Meale17/01/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley17/01/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
David Amess18/01/2013Southend WestConservativeSeconded
Peter Aldous21/01/2013WaveneyConservativeSeconded
Julian Brazier21/01/2013CanterburyConservativeSigned
Tony Cunningham21/01/2013WorkingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan21/01/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma21/01/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Shannon22/01/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
Mary Glindon22/01/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Craig Whittaker22/01/2013Calder ValleyConservativeSigned
Peter Bone22/01/2013WellingboroughConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds22/01/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr22/01/2013North AntrimDUPSigned
William McCrea22/01/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
David Simpson22/01/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
Andrew Rosindell22/01/2013RomfordConservativeSigned
John Pugh22/01/2013SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Keith Vaz23/01/2013Leicester EastLabourSigned
Robert Halfon23/01/2013HarlowConservativeSigned
Gary Streeter23/01/2013South West DevonConservativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/01/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell23/01/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Laurence Robertson23/01/2013TewkesburyConservativeSigned
Margaret Ritchie23/01/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gregory Campbell23/01/2013East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jonathan Evans24/01/2013Cardiff NorthConservativeSigned
Frank Field24/01/2013BirkenheadLabourSigned
Nadine Dorries24/01/2013Mid BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Jim McGovern24/01/2013Dundee WestLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson24/01/2013North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward24/01/2013Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Lilley25/01/2013Hitchin and HarpendenConservativeSigned
Andrew Stunell28/01/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Vaz28/01/2013Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Joe Benton29/01/2013BootleLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi29/01/2013Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy29/01/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
George Galloway29/01/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Paul Murphy31/01/2013TorfaenLabourSigned
David Davies31/01/2013MonmouthConservativeSigned
Sammy Wilson01/02/2013East AntrimDUPSigned
Rosie Cooper01/02/2013West LancashireLabourSigned
Pat Glass04/02/2013North West DurhamLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil07/02/2013Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Aidan Burley12/02/2013Cannock ChaseConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson13/02/2013Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Greg Mulholland25/02/2013Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Reckless25/02/2013Rochester and StroodConservativeSigned
Alan Beith22/04/2013Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Vickers24/04/2013CleethorpesConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.