Parliament Website

Migrant Workers In Qatar And The 2022 World Cup

EDM number 1095 in 2013-14, proposed by John Mann on 24/02/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Construction industry, Employment, Middle East and Sports.

That this House notes that since Qatar won the bid to host the 2022 World Cup the country has experienced a construction boom; further notes that in the last two years hundreds of Indian and Nepalese migrant workers have died working on construction projects in Qatar; moreover is extremely concerned that in the build-up to 2022 hundreds more migrant workers will die due to unsafe working conditions; and calls on the Government, the international community and FIFA to act to urge Qatar in the strongest possible terms to drastically improve working conditions, review the migrant worker sponsorship scheme and properly compensate the families of migrant workers who have been injured or killed.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

John Mann24/02/2014BassetlawLabourProposed
Clive Betts24/02/2014Sheffield South EastLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan24/02/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie24/02/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Bob Russell24/02/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/02/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin25/02/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn25/02/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Leech25/02/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern25/02/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton25/02/2014GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale25/02/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Naomi Long26/02/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Sandra Osborne26/02/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Hywel Francis26/02/2014AberavonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell26/02/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma26/02/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Graham Stringer26/02/2014Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley26/02/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Ward26/02/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell27/02/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Elfyn Llwyd27/02/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Andrew Stunell03/03/2014Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon04/03/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Ian Lavery06/03/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff11/03/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram13/03/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Katy Clark17/03/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson19/03/2014Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Frank Field27/03/2014BirkenheadLabourSigned
Hywel Williams27/03/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Nick Brown06/05/2014Newcastle upon Tyne EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.