Parliament Website

Improvements To The Working Conditions Of Betting Shop Staff

EDM number 268 in 2013-14, proposed by David Lammy on 18/06/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Crime, Industrial health and safety and Service industries.

That this House notes, as highlighted by the tragic death of a betting shop worker in Morden recently, that staff in UK betting shops are subject to risk from assault and abuse on a daily basis; believes that this risk is significantly enhanced by longer opening hours and single staffing in betting shops; further believes that the risk to betting shop staff has also increased as a result of the rise in the number of fixed odds betting terminals; recognises that the introduction of the Voluntary Code of Safety and Security produced by the Safebet Alliance - which includes the major bookmaking operators, Community, the trades union representing UK betting shop staff and other industry stakeholders - led to a 46 per cent decrease in robberies; and calls on the Government to reconvene talks between members of the Safebet Alliance to deliver further, much-needed improvements in safety and security standards for betting shop staff.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

David Lammy18/06/2013TottenhamLabourProposed
Frank Roy18/06/2013Motherwell and WishawLabourSeconded
Siobhain McDonagh18/06/2013Mitcham and MordenLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley18/06/2013Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim McGovern18/06/2013Dundee WestLabourSeconded
Sarah Champion18/06/2013RotherhamLabourSeconded
Bob Russell18/06/2013ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/06/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/06/2013GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin19/06/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/06/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/06/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark20/06/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John McDonnell20/06/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner20/06/2013BolsoverLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood24/06/2013Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe24/06/2013Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock25/06/2013Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
George Howarth25/06/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Andrew Love25/06/2013EdmontonLabourSigned
Andy Sawford25/06/2013CorbyLabourSigned
Naomi Long26/06/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Graeme Morrice26/06/2013LivingstonLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram26/06/2013Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma26/06/2013Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield26/06/2013Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Frank Doran27/06/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Nick Smith27/06/2013Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Jim Dowd01/07/2013Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy01/07/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
Chris Ruane03/07/2013Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/07/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Shaun Woodward05/07/2013St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff08/07/2013Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell08/07/2013Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
John Robertson10/07/2013Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Richard Burden10/07/2013Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Lucy Powell17/07/2013Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby18/07/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper02/09/2013West LancashireLabourSigned
Bill Esterson02/09/2013Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Linda Riordan08/10/2013HalifaxLabourSigned
Tom Watson05/03/2014West Bromwich EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.